Monday, June 25, 2007

"As time and distances pass, best friends become strangers" HATE THAT QUOTE.

My best friend is moving. Well, one of them. And not that far away either. Just half an hour. I found out today. And became really really mad. But it feels like a Thousand Miles because right now she lives a minute away. And she is the girl who I met in the sandboxes, the one that comes over if I don't pick up my phone. And we have our Sunday routine. The one where we pretty much hang out all day. And I don't know how to describe us. She's just the perfect best friend. The one I go to for everything. We went to school together for 6 years. And then we went different ways for middle. And we both had no hope of going to the same high school, but now she's going to one way far out. I should feel lucky that she isn't moving to a different state altogether, because those were the original plans. But still. I don't think our friendship will be the same. I hate this. I hate today.

Sunday, June 24, 2007

Carpe Diem, Seize the moment too?

(One of those moods)

Why is it that feelings are so easily felt, yet so difficulty expressed? I feel like I leave so many things unsaid because when, during a conversation, I start thinking about what I'm going to say next, the topic is changed. And if I hadn't thought, then what if I'd have said something stupid? I know many people who don't think before they talk and they just end up looking like idiots. But is it considered 'overthinking' if you never get a chance to say what you wanted to? This doesn't happen to me as often as it seems like, it just always ends up happening when I have something majorly important to say. And I also think I have tons of things that people should know, things that I wish I could tell people, I just missed the oppurtunity to tell them, and the right moment.



THIS SATURDAY! SO EXCITED! Well, actually the next 2 weeks will pretty much be 'party it up' weeks. This coming week looks like a lot of PE (which I can't wait to get back to. What's wrong with me?), tons of dance practicing, tons of family, and hopefully a lotta fun.

Saturday, June 23, 2007

Saturday Night Fever

This past week has gone by way too quickly. But still, I feel like I've learned a lot through experiences. At this one party, we were all sitting outside a Holiday Inn playing cards while there was a formal party going on inside. We felt bad but the party inside was really boring so we didn't give it much thought. The kids I was playing with were mostly sophomores or juniors. I felt like a youngin', it was kind of intimidating. First we played hearts, then BS. Usually, I'm pretty good at BS (haha, no pun intended). I always keep the same exact "poker face". But this time, there was this older guy that I'd never met before who knew every single time I was BSing. He was pretty smooth about it, he would never even THINK before he picked up my cards. Every single time. At first I thought it was coincidence, but then I noticed that he never picked up anyone else's cards; just mine. I looked at the kid for a while and I asked him his name. He said "________". Turns out he was one of my really good friends when I was younger, but he'd moved away for a while. I was really excited to see him again, but then I asked, "How come you know every time I lie in this game?" so he said


..."You scratch behind your ear"


Just another one of those ironies.

Wednesday, June 20, 2007

Look at the stars, look how they shine for you

Great Day! I woke up very very very sore. So sore I couldn't walk. Too many weights ayer. I somehow got up because the padres said that I would loosen up if I ran. And sadly enough, I'm beginning to enjoy summer school. I know it's 5 hot hours under the dirty valley sun but it feels good. I made some new friends. People mistake me for this other girl. It was funny, 10 minutes after school, a random guy comes up to me and started talking to me about his cannon ball into the pool was so funny. I said "Dude. Get a life." Because I thought he was trying to be overfriendly. Well, I must've sounded MEAN since he mistook me for the other girl. But ugh I don't want to look like someone else. What if there is an identity crisis and she steals my credit cards (the non-existant ones)? That way, she could get away with it.

So, I can't wait for Harry Potter. Both the movie and the book. Oh, and for all of the people out there that think Harry will die.
I have nothing to say to y'all.

Yes and I have a confession. I know I used to hate Papa Roach, but not that bad anymore. I mean, just the name is ugly. It makes you think of cockroaches on pizza dough.

Tuesday, June 19, 2007

Skies of blue, and red roses too

Yesterday I HATED PE. I had a really crappy day. I was ready to drop out the minute I got home. 2 and a half hours of walking around a dusty, dirty track at the peak hotness time of this town. After those two and a half hours (in which we weren't given an introduction to PE) we got to go inside the gym and sit there, on the bleachers, without any instruction, for another two and a half hours. We were all so bored and =deck-of-card-less. The smart people had brought some. Well, the expierienced sophomores, that is.

Then today, I was dreading going back. Oh man, my first day of high school had SUCKED. But it was so much better! We walked for half an hour, then went into a classroom where we were introduced to our teacher. All I can say is, this guy's a character. Then we went to the weight room. Then break. Soccer, Pickle Ball, and basketball. My favorite was basketball :)

Yes, um, speaking of characters, I've met another one. Somebody in my carpool. Hilarious. I guess you'd just have to meet him to know what I mean, though.

Then I was home. Subway leftovers and Gilmore Girls. Oh, and a long conversation with Gina.

Sunday, June 17, 2007

Happy Father's Day

Yesterday. Went to a pooja/housewarming thing. So, for my entire life, I have been THE worst carom player. I was asked if I wanted to play yesterday, because there were a couple of kids my age. I reluctantly said yes, and figured that to save myself from the embarrassment, I would pretend I didn't care about the game and hit the striker anywhere. I guess my luck was with me yesterday. Every single turn, I got 2 or 3 pieces in. When I got the queen in, I couldn't believe it and my luck ended up getting me the cover, too :)

After the party I took a LONG nap. Emily, of course, had to wake me up in the middle of it. I don't think this girl understands that when somebody doesn't pick up their phone, you're not supposed to call back 5 times. Kayla, Emily, and I went to the Chinese place for dinner. Our usual. We felt bad that it was empty because that probably meant that its not doing well in business. I was mad because the food there is really good, it's just in a really sucky location where nobody goes. Then we went to starbucks. double chocolate chip...
Their parents were down the street from us at the Mexican place, so we went to drop off our food boxes with them so we could escape to the trails down at the lake. Emily's policy was "No eye contact, no touch, no talk" with the siblings. They both have humungo families and somehow or other, we all end up having to babysit. Yesterday was no different, we were made to take them to the park. I was the only one excited though, since I don't get it up to here in younger siblings. Em and Kayla yelled at me afterwards, when every single kid had to go to the bathroom within 5 minutes. We played capture the flag and duck duck goose. Oh, the good old days, I miss 'em.
When we were watching the kids in the park, we were sitting in the grass. I remembered when Emily's youngest sisters were born. I used to go over everyday to see them. And now there they were, running around in little sundresses and Keds, sticking dandelions in my hair.
After forever at the park I figured I should walk home. And that was the day.

Uhh, today? Well, technically, that was the day yesterday, but I stayed up till 3AM again packing father's day gifts. I should be ashamed that I haven't learned anything from procrastinating through last year so much.
In the morning, Pop's was surprised to find 2 shirts, a cocktail mixer thing, a cell phone, and us ready (quite early for our record) to take him out to breakfast.

And tomorrow. Oh boy. It's officially my first day of high school. Because I am being made to take Physical Education ALL SUMMER. And if that isn't bad enough, it's 5 hours everyday in 500 degree weather. No exaggerations. I hope it goes well. I was talking to a friend who took these classes last summer, and she said they only clean out the pool when there's food in there. She advised me to bring a picnic...And not for lunch.

Saturday, June 16, 2007

3 AM Postings

I'm convinced I'm nocturnal...

today was one of the best in a while. It started with me waking up at 11 and eating my regular round of fruit loops, which, I also learned today, are totally and completely unhealthy. Who knew, since it combines the words fruit and loops, and is targeted at hyperactive 5-year-olds?
Then I decided to get ready early for the movies with Shivs. We saw Surf's Up. It was waaay better than I expected. The Disney movie standard has dropped these days; there seem to be more movies out of desperation rather than the legendary Cinderella quality. I was proud when I discovered that the main guys voice was Shia LeBeouf (sp?).
We headed over to the ice cream shop afterwards where we sat and talked forever. What is it with me and talking in eateries? Must admit, I was in good company, with one of the best friends. We didn't seem to mind the artificial cherries on top.
We waited oustide for a ride home. For a while.
Then my madre decided that I needed to go on a shopping escapade with her and her friend. I was excited until I was informed that we were headed to Linens 'n' Things. Thanks to TPK, I didn't mind the "things" that much.
Then when we were too tired looking for Father's Day gifts we met up with the rest of the fam at some new Italian place. Then we got the Holiday, which I watched for the 4th time.

This week has been full of nothing-ness.
Well, there goes my freedom for the next 2 months. PE beginning monday...

Thursday, June 14, 2007

Oh the joys of Gilmore Girls

Today was an ehh day. I just feel so eloquent... And sarcastic.
I didn't do anything. Just watched TV, ate some stuff, and went on a walk. Oh and tried to use some gift cards. I had leftover ones that I found and half of them were expired so I had to use the others fast.

Anyways I'm obsessed with Gilmore Girls. Seriously. That and cleaning my room...ugh.
I did that today too, which resulted in 4 big trashbags and a shining room. And no energy left on my part. Then on my walk, I got a babysitting job. (Who knew walks could be so dangerous??.. just kidding) Yeah it's for my neighbors but oh boy let's just say they NEVER RUN OUT OF ENERGY. Last time I sat for these people, Valentine's Day, there was a time when I was running down the street with a 3-year-old in my arms, chasing a 7-year-old who refused to get in bed, while a 9-year-old ran along with me, begging me to color disney pictures with her.

...The coloring was fun.

Wednesday, June 13, 2007

Summer Lovin'

FINALLY FEELS LIKE SUMMMMMMER

So I went to lunch with Kayla today. We sat there talking, heart to hearting, for about 2 hours until we were finally kicked out. My fortune cookie said something like Reading is the cheapest and most valuable form of entertainment, but I handed Kayla my cookie because I didn't want it. She said that fortunes only came true if you ate the cookie, so I asked the Chinese waitress if that was true. She said "I'm NOT a fortune teller!"
...We overstayed our welcome.

After we were kicked out we headed to Starbuck's. The usual. Oh, and if you don't know me and Kayla, then you should know that her, Emily, and I have had the tradition of walking to lunch and Starbucks whenever possible. I got a Dulce de Leche. I was proud for not having ordered a Double Chocolate Chip, my usual. Then she remembered that she was supposed to get a Decaf. We had to run back to my house, take a sharpie, and mark decaf on her cup.

Tuesday, June 12, 2007

This will be our year, took a long time to come

It feels like I haven't been happy for a while. There's nothing wrong though, I can't explain. Maybe it's the things that are happening and changing too fast.

I saw Ocean's 13 last night because it was Avigator's birthday. It was kind of a disappointment, I expected way more from it. The plot could've been planned out much better. But afterwards I craved seeing The Departed again.
And I am petsitting a hamster. I hate it. Not the hamster, Fluffy is adorable. He is a sweetheart. I just hate walking past his cage at 12 in the middle of the night and seeing him up on the rails, looking at me and longing attention. I may sound like a maniac, but it's true. People either shouldn't have pets or they should have more of the same kind in less confined spaces. I sound like a hypocrite, I've had many pets before. But I think there were always points when I couldn't stand looking into the eyes of the animal because there was seriously so much sadness going on.

So, why do I look at the hamster in the middle of the night? Well I stay up to watch Boy Meets World and Fresh Prince and Gilmore Girls every night because I have nothing else to do. I can officially say that I'm in love with Gilmore Girls. I used to wonder why everybody loved it so much but now I understand.

Whoaaa. Olga just called me. And then I was looking for a bracelet while I was on the phone with her and I saw a ginormous spider. She's like, USE WINDEX. So I used 409. But I just sprayed the spider and watched it die. I know people do it everyday, it just doesn't work out with me. Must I be such an animal hugger?

Sunday, June 10, 2007

StrangeTown

It's summer and I don't feel like myself
I have no want to do anything
I feel kinda lonely since everyone's really far away
I miss everyone too much
But I still hope to have a good summer

Yesterday was a fun day. Lot's of shopping. Got myself couture earrings.
Uh, rhyme?
Anyways, I'm kind of in my Youth Against Poverty project write now. Contact me if you're want to be of any help.

Saturday, June 9, 2007

Movin' Along

I am now keeping this as a summer blog. I want to hold my memories but am too lazy to keep a real diary so this will be the replacement.

These past few days have been crazy but an amazing learning experience for me. Sunsplash was fun but tired me out like hell. And signing yearbooks all week was just a bit sad. I just realized how close the IB "family" was getting. And now we're all going our different ways. Last night was fun too, I guess I was too tired from everything to bring up my energy level. Gina and I feel asleep for over 2 hours without planning on it. And school... oh god. It feels like it should've been over, but it's hard saying goodbye. So many of these people that I've spent hours with, I'll never see again. As much as I try to tell myself we'll stay in touch, it won't work out. We'll grow apart and it won't be the same, besides for a certain few. I don't think I want to look back anymore. It's over, and I want to stay positive for my future. Here's to the summer and to all the graduates. Congratulations and Good Luck.

Tuesday, June 5, 2007

Time Flies?

Yearbook Signing day tomorrow. Then Sunsplash. Then 3 hours of school on Friday. Why has the year gone by so fast? It's not like last year, when we all knew we were going back to the same school. This year, it's different. We're all going different ways.

Saturday, I went to the AR Rahman concert, it was amazing. Everybody was crying and pelting out Vande Mataram. Avigator and I danced so much that the people in the seats behind us moved. I loved Roobaroo. Possibly, just maybe... The best song ever made.

Monday, June 4, 2007

Got my new shoes on, dun dun dun//

I'm attached to blogging. I know, lame, but true. So on Friday I went to an 8th Grade End of the Year/ Graduation Party for one of my really close friends and all of the girls were crazily shallow. It was funny after a while, but they were the "Oh my gosh, like- totally-" kind of girls. Emily was there though, so it was all right. We don't really have much time for blogging today so i will go. IT'S THE LAST MONDAY OF SCHOOOL, WHOOOT.